Hello and Welcome!

Dear readers and sufferers of the pine nut syndrome,

this blog is dedicated to YOU.

Today marks an exact 4 weeks since my first meeting with my supervisors Assistant Professor Markus Stieger and Professor Kees de Graaf at Wageningen University to launch the project of unraveling the pine mouth mystery (click here to see who we are). Since then, I have been collecting information from literature, from forums and from your fellow pine mouth sufferers, and have made my best attempt to share what I have so far in this blog. I hope that the information I have (and will have, in the next few months) put up here will help you deal with your pine episode, or to perhaps give you a little consolation that at least 3 people in this world are trying really hard to get to the bottom of the matter.

At the same time, I must stress that the nature of research is that success is not guaranteed nor defined within fixed time frames. I can only promise you that I will try my utmost best, and with your help of offering relevant information and problem-causing samples, I believe that we will at least gain some insight into this issue. You with me on this?

My professors and I would like to extend our deepest gratitude to the 30+ individuals from USA, UK, Finland, South Africa, Netherlands, Belgium and Canada, who have enthusiastically responded to my earlier posts on blogs and forums (without even questioning my identity and intentions) with offers of samples, information and ideas, and magnanimous rejections of any offers of repayment. The information they have provided in the past few weeks have formed the basis of our hypotheses, the skeleton of this blog, as well as the materials for the upcoming experimental work.

Kijk! (that means ‘look’, in dutch) I have received your mail!🙂

We are, by the way, still looking for more ‘problem’ samples and detailed reports of pine mouth experiences, so do fill in the SURVEY and drop an email to pinenutsyndrome@gmail.com if you have samples to send!

Meanwhile, feel free to browse, to leave your comments, to share your experiences, to encourage each other, and perhaps, to offer me some scientific expertise? Do forgive me if this site is lacking in any way as I have put it together very quickly whilst handling a heavy initial workload and the vexing inconveniences of resettling down in a foreign land. I will continue to improve on this site (with the help of your comments!) and to feed you with any updates I have as we go along! Do subscribe in the right side bar to receive notifications of updates via email!

A million thanks and blessings, from Grace.

About grrrrracey

I love to eat, I love to cook, and I love to dig into every mystery about food!
This entry was posted in Announcements, General Information. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello and Welcome!

  1. Geert Verstegen says:

    Hi Grace,

    I’v remarked that the link to your survey (on this page) does not work. Elsewhere where I tried it, it seemed to werk.

    Greets,

    Geert

  2. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It actually was
    a enjoyment account it. Look complicated to far introduced agreeable from you!

    By the way, how can we keep in touch?

Leave a Reply

